top of page
Zoeken
  • Foto van schrijverVera Praet

Thank you, Elephants Alive family

The tree month experience in South Africa is finished, at least for now. Yesterday I came back to the Netherlands, and I'm happy to see my friends and family again. I would however like to take a moment to say something to all EA staff members.


It's hard to describe in words how thankful I am for my time at Elephants Alive. I have seen, experienced, and learned so much, met so many interesting and inspiring people, and have been given so many opportunities. It’s hard to grasp that all of this happened in ‘just’ three months. Here’s one of those cheesy blogs saying thank you over and over again – because I think my colleagues should be able to read what Elephants Alive has meant to me.


To Elephants Alive in general: thank you all for doing so much for EA, and just for being the kind and dedicated people you are. Thank you for teaching me what it’s like to work in a conservation and research organization. I realise how special it is to have been involved in so many different projects. I’ve tried to give my best effort, and hope my work for EA has been as valuable for you as it has been for me. Thank you for having me, and for allowing me to be part of every project and activity. I’ve experienced how inspiring it is to work for a good cause, while at the same time trying to overcome so many obstacles that conservation faces. I really, really appreciate it. I think EA is like a beautiful family, where all kinds of people from different backgrounds come together and work together on a common goal. Sharing the same passion for conservation, research, and elephants truly unites. Many staff members don’t see their biological family often because of distance, but I can from my own experience tell you that the EA staff is a lovely foster family.


Michelle, director, supervisor, colleague, and friend. A matriarch is what I’ve heard people call you, and it suits you perfectly. Like a matriarch, you are wise, determined, good hearted, and an example to us all. You say elephants can serve as our role model, and so can you. I’m honoured to have worked closely with you, and I will never forget what you have learned me directly and indirectly, and how you made me a part of everything EA does. Thank you for welcoming me in the EA family.


My housemates and colleagues Robin, Tammy, and Ronny, thank you for taking me along showing me around everywhere, both in EA and in town. I wouldn’t have seen so much if it hadn’t been for you. You took me on unforgettable field days throughout the Greater Kruger, with many close animal encounters and hilarious moments because you just have to make jokes all the time. You all taught me so much about elephants, bees, trees, and people, both in the field and in the office. I’m very glad to have been a colleague of you all. But you also put in that extra effort, and took me to Kruger, to friends, events, to town, and organized house evenings. You made me feel welcome and at home. You didn’t have to do all of this, but you did, and that means a lot to me.


Anka, thank you for the fun times as a colleague and as a fellow Dutch speaker (although we hardly spoke Dutch), for having us in your house, and for helping me out with GIS! Julie, thank you for our nice little chats at the office, and for being so nice and down to earth with your awesome CV. Tamsin, thanks for the lunch break chats, for being so creative with the posters, and for walking around as a bee at the farmers market. Harriet, we haven’t met often, but thank you for organising so much for EA! Isabel, thank you for the fun and inspiring visits to Hoedspruit, and for the time and effort you put in EA while you are not even always here.


And of course, Antoinette, even though you are not an official EA staff member, I think you are still part of the family. Thank you for suggesting me to get in contact with Elephants Alive, and for just being the inspiring and enthusiastic person you are. Without you, I wouldn’t have done my master thesis about African elephants, and I would certainly not have had this amazing experience in South Africa. Thank you for your trust in me, and for the great brainstorm sessions. I’m sure we’ll be in touch!


Of course, I’ve met many more people while working for EA. For example, Nelie, who I’ve had many fun field days with, and who we always trust in the field. And all other conservationists, who I’ve met at workshops, meetings, at fundraisers, or even in town. And the vets, the wardens, land owners, friends of friends, interesting people, random people, anyone who I’ve met or spoken to… I believe you can learn something from every situation, and I think I did. So thank you all, for helping me develop as a researcher, conservationist, and as a person. I’m even more sure about my passions for wildlife and nature, and I know I will one way or another continue my career in that direction.


If you ever think of anything I can do for you, please contact me. Elephants Alive, you are great, keep up the good work! I have the feeling we’ll see each other again!



94 weergaven0 opmerkingen

Recente blogposts

Alles weergeven
bottom of page